Search Portuguese French Arabic
  The Organs of the AU
The Executive Council

"Executive Council" means the Executive Council of Ministers of the Union.

1. The Executive Council shall be composed of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs or such other Ministers or Authorities as are designated by the Governments of Member States.

2. The Executive Council shall meet at least twice a year in ordinary session. It shall also meet in an extra-ordinary session at the request of any Member State and upon approval by two-thirds of all Member States.

Decisions of the Executive Council

1. The Executive Council shall take its decisions by consensus or, failing which, by a two-thirds majority of the Member States. However, procedural matters, including the question of whether a matter is one of procedure or not, shall be decided by a simple majority.

2. Two-thirds of the total membership of the Union shall form a quorum at any meeting of the Executive Council.

Rules of Procedure of the Executive Council

The Executive Council shall adopt its own Rules of Procedure.

Rules of Procedure of the Executive Council



Help | Site Map | Useful Links| Databases | FAQs| Letter to the Chairperson | Contact Us | Webmaster | Email |
Copyrights & Terms of Use